Daily Words of God | "God Himself, the Unique II" | Excerpt 106

75 |July 7, 2020

(Gen 19:1–11) And there came two angels to Sodom at even; and Lot sat in the gate of Sodom: and Lot seeing them rose up to meet them; and he bowed himself with his face toward the ground; And he said, Behold now, my lords, turn in, I pray you, into your servant’s house, and tarry all night, and wash your feet, and you shall rise up early, and go on your ways. And they said, No; but we will abide in the street all night. And he pressed on them greatly; and they turned in to him, and entered into his house; and he made them a feast, and did bake unleavened bread, and they did eat. But before they lay down, the men of the city, even the men of Sodom, compassed the house round, both old and young, all the people from every quarter: And they called to Lot, and said to him, Where are the men which came in to you this night? bring them out to us, that we may know them. And Lot went out at the door to them, and shut the door after him, And said, I pray you, brothers, do not so wickedly. Behold now, I have two daughters which have not known man; let me, I pray you, bring them out to you, and do you to them as is good in your eyes: only to these men do nothing; for therefore came they under the shadow of my roof. And they said, Stand back. And they said again, This one fellow came in to sojourn, and he will needs be a judge: now will we deal worse with you, than with them. And they pressed sore on the man, even Lot, and came near to break the door. But the men put forth their hand, and pulled Lot into the house to them, and shut to the door. And they smote the men that were at the door of the house with blindness, both small and great: so that they wearied themselves to find the door.

(Gen 19:24–25) Then Jehovah rained on Sodom and on Gomorrah brimstone and fire from Jehovah out of heaven; And He overthrew those cities, and all the plain, and all the inhabitants of the cities, and that which grew on the ground.

After Sodom’s Repeated Resistance and Hostility Toward Him, God Utterly Eradicates It

From a human perspective, Sodom was a city that could fully satisfy man’s desire and man’s evil. Alluring and bewitching, with music and dancing night after night, its prosperity drove men to fascination and madness. Its evil corroded the hearts of people and bewitched them into degeneration. This was a city where unclean spirits and evil spirits ran amok; it brimmed with sin and murder and was filled with a bloody, putrid scent. It was a city that chilled people to the bone, a city that one would shrink back from. No one in this city—neither man nor woman, neither young nor old—sought the true way; no one yearned for the light or longed to walk away from sin. They lived under Satan’s control, corruption and deceit. They had lost their humanity; they had lost their senses, and they had lost man’s original goal of existence. They committed countless sins of resistance against God; they refused His guidance and opposed His will. It was their wicked deeds that carried these people, the city and every living thing inside it, step by step, down the path of destruction.

Although these two passages do not record the details describing the extent of the corruption of the people of Sodom, instead recording their conduct toward God’s two servants following the latter’s arrival in the city, a simple truth can reveal the extent to which the people of Sodom were corrupt, evil and resisted God. With this, the true face and substance of the city’s people are also exposed. Not only did they not accept God’s warnings, they also did not fear His punishment. To the contrary, they scorned God’s anger. They blindly resisted God. No matter what He did or how He did it, their vicious nature only intensified, and they repeatedly opposed God. The people of Sodom were hostile toward God’s existence, His coming, His punishment, and even more so, His warnings. They saw nothing else worthwhile around them. They devoured and harmed all people that could be devoured and harmed, and they treated God’s servants no differently. In regard to the whole of the wicked deeds committed by the people of Sodom, harming God’s servants was only the tip of the iceberg, and their wicked nature that this revealed actually amounted to little more than a drop in a vast sea. Therefore, God chose to destroy them with fire. God did not use a flood, nor did He use a hurricane, earthquake, tsunami or any other method to destroy the city. What did God’s use of fire to destroy this city signify? It meant the city’s total destruction; it meant that the city vanished entirely from the earth and from existence. Here, “destruction” not only refers to the vanishing of the city’s form and structure or outer appearance; it also means that the souls of the people inside the city ceased to exist, having been utterly eradicated. Simply put, all people, events and things associated with the city were destroyed. There would be no afterlife or reincarnation for them; God had eradicated them from humanity, His creation, once and forever. The “use of fire” signified a halt to sin, and it meant an end to sin; this sin would cease to exist and spread. It meant that Satan’s evil had lost its nurturing soil as well as the graveyard that granted it a place to stay and to live. In the war between God and Satan, God’s use of fire is the brand of His victory with which Satan is marked. Sodom’s destruction is a great misstep in Satan’s ambition to oppose God by corrupting and devouring men, and it is likewise a humiliating sign of a time in humanity’s development when man rejected God’s guidance and abandoned himself to vice. Furthermore, it is a record of a true revelation of God’s righteous disposition.

When the fire God sent from heaven had reduced Sodom to nothing more than ashes, it meant that the city named “Sodom” would cease to exist, as would everything within the city itself. It was destroyed by God’s anger; it vanished under God’s wrath and majesty. Because of God’s righteous disposition Sodom received its just punishment; because of God’s righteous disposition, it received its just end. The end of Sodom’s existence was due to its evil, and it was also due to God’s desire to never look upon this city again, as well as any of the people who had lived in it or any life that had grown within the city. God’s “desire to never look upon the city again” is His wrath, as well as His majesty. God burned the city because its iniquity and sin caused Him to feel anger, disgust and loathing toward it and wish to never see it or any of the people and living things inside it again. Once the city had finished burning, leaving only ashes behind, it had truly ceased to exist in God’s eyes; even His memories of it were gone, erased. This means that the fire sent from heaven did not only destroy the entire city of Sodom and the iniquity-filled people inside it, nor did it only destroy all things inside the city that had been stained by sin; even more so, this fire destroyed the memories of humanity’s evil and resistance against God. This was God’s purpose in burning the city down.

A humanity had become corrupt to the extreme. They did not know who God was or where they had come from. If you mentioned God, these people would attack, slander and blaspheme. Even when God’s servants had come to spread His warning, these corrupt people not only showed no signs of repentance; they did not abandon their wicked conduct. To the contrary, they brazenly harmed God’s servants. What they expressed and revealed was their nature and substance of extreme enmity toward God. We can see that these corrupt people’s resistance against God was more than a revelation of their corrupt disposition, just as it was more than an instance of slandering or mocking stemming from a lack of understanding of the truth. Neither stupidity nor ignorance caused their wicked conduct; it was not because these people had been deceived, and it was certainly not because they had been misled. Their conduct had reached the level of flagrantly brazen antagonism, opposition and uproar against God. Without a doubt, this kind of human behavior would enrage God, and it would enrage His disposition—a disposition that must not be offended. Therefore, God directly and openly released His wrath and His majesty; this is a true revelation of His righteous disposition. Faced with a city overflowing with sin, God desired to destroy it in the swiftest manner possible; He wished to eradicate the people within it and the entirety of their sins in the most complete way, to make this city’s people cease to exist and to stop the sin within this place from multiplying. The swiftest and most complete way of doing so was to burn it down with fire. God’s attitude toward the people of Sodom was not one of abandonment or disregard; rather, He used His wrath, majesty and authority to punish, strike down and utterly destroy these people. His attitude toward them was one not only of physical destruction but also of destruction of the soul, an eternal eradication. This is the true implication of God’s desire for them to “cease to exist.”

Excerpted from “God Himself, the Unique II”

Show more
The world is beset by catastrophe in the last days. What warning does this give to us? And how can we be protected by God amid disasters? Join us for our topical sermon, which will tell you the answers.
Contact us
Contact us via WhatsApp

Leave a Reply

Share

Cancel

每日神話 《獨一無二的神自己 二》 選段106

668 |2020年05月23日

創19:1-11 那兩個天使晚上到了所多瑪。羅得正坐在所多瑪城門口,看見他們,就起來迎接,臉伏于地下拜,説:「我主啊,請你們到僕人家裏洗洗脚,住一夜,清早起來再走。」他們説:「不!我們要在街上過夜。」羅得切切地請他們,他們這才進去到他屋裏。羅得為他們預備筵席,烤無酵餅,他們就吃了。他們還没有躺下,所多瑪城裏各處的人,連老帶少,都來圍住那房子,呼叫羅得説:「今日晚上到你這裏來的人在哪裏呢?把他們帶出來,任我們所為。」羅得出來,把門關上,到衆人那裏,説:「衆弟兄,請你們不要做這惡事。我有兩個女兒,還是處女,容我領出來任憑你們的心願而行,只是這兩個人既然到我舍下,不要向他們做什麽。」衆人説:「退去吧!」又説:「這個人來寄居,還想要做官哪!現在我們要害你比害他們更甚。」衆人就向前擁擠羅得,要攻破房門。只是那二人伸出手來,將羅得拉進屋去,把門關上,并且使門外的人,無論老少,眼都昏迷;他們摸來摸去,總尋不着房門。

創19:24-25 當時,耶和華將硫磺與火從天上耶和華那裏降與所多瑪和蛾摩拉,把那些城和全平原,并城裏所有的居民,連地上生長的,都毁滅了。

所多瑪城一味地仇視神與神對抗,被神徹底剪除

所多瑪城在人的眼中是讓人的欲望、讓人的邪惡能得到完全飽足的一座城,它夜夜笙歌、嫵媚妖嬈,它的繁華讓人沉迷、癲狂,它的邪惡侵蝕人的心靈,迷惑人墮落。這是一座污鬼邪靈横行的城,它充滿罪惡,充滿殺戮,充滿血腥與腐臭的味道,它是一座令人毛骨悚然的城,是一座令人却步的城。在這樣的城中,無論男女老少,没有人尋找真道,没有人嚮往光明,没有人企盼走出罪惡,人活在撒但的掌控之中,活在撒但的敗壞之下,活在撒但的愚弄之下,喪失了人性,喪失了理智,喪失了人原有的生存目標,他們抵擋神的惡行累累,他們拒絶神的引導、對抗神的旨意,是他們的惡行將他們與這座城,還有城中所有的活物一步一步帶向滅亡之路。

在這兩段話裏雖然没有記載所多瑪城的人敗壞到什麽程度的細節,只是把神的兩個僕人到了所多瑪城之後衆人對他們的所作所為記載了下來,但是一個簡單的事實就把所多瑪城的人敗壞到什麽程度、邪惡到什麽程度、抵擋神到什麽程度給揭示出來了,隨之城中之人的本相實質也都暴露出來。他們不但不接受神給他們的警示,也不害怕神對他們的懲罰,反而蔑視神的怒氣。他們只是一味地與神對抗,無論神作什麽,無論神怎樣作,他們的惡毒本性只是變本加厲,一味地與神敵對。他們仇視神的存在,他們仇視神的到來,他們仇視神的懲罰,更仇視神給他們的警示。他們目空一切,除了吞吃、殘害一切他們可吞吃、可殘害的人之外,對神的僕人也不例外。所多瑪城中之人殘害神的僕人一事只是他們所有惡行的冰山一角,而他們邪惡的本性在此所暴露出來的只是海水中的一滴,因此,神選擇用火毁滅他們。神不是用洪水,也不是用颶風、地震、海嘯,更不是用其他方式毁滅這座城。用火燒的方式毁滅了這座城,這意味着什麽?火燒意味着這座城的完全被毁滅,意味着這座城已從地球上徹底消失,不復存在。這裏的「毁滅」不是指形體上的消失,不是外觀上的消失,而是城中所有人的靈魂也都不復存在了,被徹底取締。總而言之,與這座城有關的所有人、事、物都被毁滅,他們不再有來世,不再有輪迴,他們被神一次而永久地從受造人類中剪除。「火燒」意味着罪惡在此被制止,意味着罪惡在此結束,在此不復存在、不得衍生,意味着撒但的邪惡失去了滋生的土壤,失去了可停留、居住的墳塋,它是神與撒但争戰在撒但身上所留下的神得勝的烙印。所多瑪城的被毁是撒但藉敗壞人、吞吃人來與神對抗的野心的一大敗筆,也是人類發展史上人類拒絶神的引導、自甘墮落的一個耻辱的記號,同時也是神公義性情真實流露的一次紀實。

當所多瑪城被神從天上降下的火燒得只剩下灰燼的時候,它意味着以「所多瑪」命名的城從此不再出現,意味着城中的一切都不再出現。它被神的怒氣毁滅,它消失在神的烈怒之中,消失在神的威嚴之中,它因着神的公義性情而受到了應有的懲罰,因着神的公義性情得到了它應有的下場。它的不復存在是因着它的邪惡,也是因着在神的眼中不想再看到這座城,不想再看到任何一個在這座城中生活過的人,與在這座城中生長的萬物。神的「不想再看到」是神的烈怒也是神的威嚴,因着這座城的邪惡、罪惡,讓神對這座城發怒、恨惡、厭憎,導致了神不想再看到這座城,不想再看到這座城的人與所有活物,所以神才用火來燒這座城。當被火燒完的城剩下的只是灰燼的時候,它在神的眼中就真的不復存在了,甚至對它的記憶都没有了,都抹煞了。這就是説,從天所降之火燒掉的不僅是所多瑪整座城,不僅是城中充滿罪惡的人,也不僅是城中被罪惡玷污過的萬物,燒掉的更是人類的邪惡與對神的抵擋所留下來的記憶,這就是神火燒這座城的目的。

一個人類敗壞到了極處,不知道誰是神,不知道自己從何而來,當你提到神的時候,他會攻擊,他會毁謗,他會褻瀆,更甚者是當神的僕人去傳達神的警示的時候,這些敗壞的人不但没有絲毫悔改的表現,也不弃掉所行的惡,反而將肆意殘害神的僕人,他們表示、流露出來的是他們對神極度仇恨的本性實質。可見,這些敗壞的人對神的抵擋不僅僅是敗壞性情的流露了,也不僅僅是不明白真相的毁謗或譏笑,他們的惡行不是因着愚昧、無知,也不是因着受蒙蔽,更不是因着被迷惑,而是到了公開地肆意與神對立、對抗、叫囂的程度。無疑,人這樣的表現必將觸怒神,觸怒神的性情,觸怒神不容人觸犯的性情,所以神的烈怒、神的威嚴便會直接地、公開地向他們發出來,這就是神公義性情的真實流露。對于這座充滿罪惡的城,神想用最快的辦法滅掉它,用最徹底的方式滅掉其中的人,滅掉所有的罪惡,讓這裏的人不復存在,讓這裏的罪惡也從此不再滋生,這個最快最徹底的方式就是用火燒。神對待所多瑪城之人的態度不是放弃,不是置之不理,而是要以他的烈怒、以他的威嚴與權柄來懲罰這些人,來擊殺這些人,將這些人完全滅掉。神對他們的態度不只是肉體上的毁滅,更是靈魂上的毁滅,是永久的消除,這就是在神那兒「不復存在」的真實含義。

——摘自《話在肉身顯現》

展開
如何擺脱罪性的捆綁,不活在認罪犯罪的情形中?歡迎聯繫我們,幫你在神的話裏找到路途。
通過WhatsApp與我們聯繫
通過Messenger與我們聯繫

發表迴響

分享

取消